#041 How your goals are stopping you from achieving your goals

“Come to theatre now.” Debbie is my senior registrar. She is loud, hilarious and only looking back, do I now appreciate how much effort she put into training me.

#041 How your goals are stopping you from achieving your goals
from the Neurosurgical Atlas


“Come to theatre now.”

Debbie is my senior registrar. She is loud, hilarious and only looking back, do I now appreciate how much effort she put into training me.

I voice my concerns.

I have 3 drug charts to transcribe, a new patient to see and relatives to speak to. I haven’t eaten since waking up for my night shift. I don’t mention the last one, just think it.

Despite my protest, I go to theatre. Debbie takes me through how to evacuate a blood clot from someone’s brain.

I am slow and she is patient. Once the main steps of the operation are done, she takes over to close and I go back to my jobs list with a smile on my face.

A nurse has spoken to the relatives who are now happy and have left. It turns out the 3 drug charts didn’t need transcribing tonight and the nurses are now using them for their drug rounds. I spend 15 minutes seeing the new patient and taking their blood. Once sent, I sit down and have my first meal of the day. 

I smile again, “What just happened?”

I didn't realise it at the time, but almost 10 years ago during that night shift, I was learning an important lesson.